Social Link

Sequential Evaluation

Posted on January 25, 2016

Social Security regulations are complex even for the most seasoned Cuyahoga County disability attorney. However, your Cuyahoga County disability lawyer can explain that applying for benefits often involves a five-step sequential process. Once you are found at one of the five steps to be disabled or not disabled, the determination ends and you do not proceed to the next step.Lady of Justice Cuyahoga County disability attorney

Steps of the Process

The first step is to determine whether or not you are engaged in substantial gainful activity. If you are so engaged, you will not qualify for Social Security disability benefits. The second step is to determine whether you suffer from a severe, medically determinable impairment. If so, you will be found to be disabled and will receive benefits. The third step is to determine if your impairment meets or equals one in the Listing of Impairments. The fourth step is to determine whether you are able to perform past relevant work, given your residual functional capacity. If you are able to return to this work as determined by your RFC, you will not receive benefits. The final step is to determine whether or not there is work in significant numbers that you can perform, based on your age, work experience, education and RFC.

Duration Requirement

In order to qualify for benefits, your Cuyahoga County disability attorney can explain that you must also meet a duration requirement to qualify for benefits. Your disability must have lasted for 12 months or be expected to last for this time frame.

Contact John Paul Oreh at 216-896-0935 for assistance with your claim.

Social Security Disability Library